A Lotta Respect.

15 comments

  1. hailangeliccreation · April 25, 2016

    Stephen King has a wonderful sense of humor when talking about his work. Carrie is a classic, a quick read as you play the images in your head and become lost until the end of the book. -Author S

    Liked by 1 person

    • Devore · April 25, 2016

      I agree entirely. King seems to have an almost effortless quality of work, and the ability to make you experience precisely what he wants you to. I could go on (and on) about this brilliant and valuable asset to the genre, but I can see you are just as versed in his legacy.
      I am a huge fan of his short stories – to me that seems to be where he shows his greatest prowess – particularly Nightmare & Dreamscapes, as well as Everything’s Eventual.

      Like

      • hailangeliccreation · April 25, 2016

        I’m a fan of his book on writing. It’s a trove of fantastic tips and well as a wonderful narrative and a few prompts to try. I love books I can get involoved in and learn from, and this does boht. I admit I haven’t read those stories, but I’d love to if you have a link to them. -Author S

        Liked by 1 person

      • Devore · April 25, 2016

        Yes, On Writing is excellent and very instructive, perhaps that comes from his own teaching experience. The titles mentioned are collections, but if you are truly interested those are the two I would recommend. In N&D, there is a story called “Suffer the Little Children.” My personal favorite. I’m afraid I cannot find a link however.

        Like

      • hailangeliccreation · April 25, 2016

        That’s too bad. I’m sure it lives somewhere, just have to do a little looking. He makes an excellent teacher, I agree. Is there a story of yours you’d like me to look at? I found a couple videos, but I don’t know if I missed something. -Author S

        Liked by 1 person

      • Devore · April 25, 2016

        Not a whole lot of stories on here yet, I’ll admit. The problem lies in my inability to finish, I suppose. However, I am currently in the process of writing a novel called We Fear the Reaper. It’s coming slowly, but slowly is better than nothing at all. I don’t think it’ll be featured on the blog, but there you are.
        The Monster of Frankenstein, an early short story of mine, is featured on The Devorian, I believe. If you’d like to take a look, I’d be much obliged.

        Like

      • hailangeliccreation · April 25, 2016

        I just read it. The twist you put in the story was wonderful, Frankenstein being his own monster. It brings to life the common misconception of Frankenstein being the monster instead of the scientist.
        I’d keep an eye on your spacing for dialogue as well as your adverb usage. With such a concept, I wish it would’ve lasted longer, but the abrupt end is powerful in its own right.
        -Author S

        Liked by 1 person

      • Devore · April 25, 2016

        I appreciate the praise, and take to heart the suggestions. Thank you for reading, and if ever the favor need be returned, you have to only ask!

        Like

      • hailangeliccreation · April 25, 2016

        Feedback is always a need, always welcome. Thank you for the offer, and I’m glad I could help. If you ever need inspiration, feedback, or suggestions, I’d be happy to provide.
        -Author S

        Liked by 1 person

      • Devore · April 25, 2016

        Likewise, my dear. Enjoy your day.

        Like

      • hailangeliccreation · April 25, 2016

        Thank you, you too! Feel free to to leave a message anytime. Perhaps with email or chat, we could write together sometime.
        -Author S

        Like

      • Devore · April 25, 2016

        I would enjoy that very much. Anytime.

        Like

      • hailangeliccreation · April 25, 2016

        Sounds great!

        Liked by 1 person

      • Devore · April 25, 2016

        Of course. Again, thank you. Mine is dmagenvindan@gmail.com

        Like

      • hailangeliccreation · April 25, 2016

        Thank you very much! I’ll send a quick message now. -Author S

        Like

Leave a Reply

