An Enduring Nightmare

The street before me was utterly still and silent as I ran its course, a few spectral lamps being my only source of illumination from the night that settled on the neighborhood like inky, pervasive smog.  

“Help, please!” I would occasionally cry out to the looming houses as I passed them by.  No answer would ever come. So I ran, on and on, because I knew somehow – though I never dared to look – that not far behind was my nighttime stalker, keeping pace with me all the time.

This is a recurring dream I had as a child, for years on end. The details would change ever so slightly over time, but it always ended the same … my finding no solace from whoever was pursuing me. It is gone now, back to wherever those pernicious bad dreams go, yet the memory of how it made me feel still brings me chills. Perhaps one day I will even turn it into a story, but until then …

I was wondering if anyone else would like to share something of this nature that they have experienced? By all means, my dears, do.

I love scary stories.

 

21 comments

  1. savageneurons · February 22, 2016

    I don’t think i’ve ever had something to this extent. However, i did have this one dream that involved my mothers and a few friends in a boiler room and it was scary. This was also a few days after i watched Nightmare on Elm Street.

    Liked by 2 people

    • Devore · February 22, 2016

      You have just mentioned my all-time favorite horror movie, my dear. I imagine Freddy’s boiler room has infinite opportunities for spectacularly terrifying nightmares.

      Liked by 1 person

      • savageneurons · February 23, 2016

        The boiler room chase was just on point. The whole movie was just disturbingly brilliant

        Like

      • Devore · February 23, 2016

        Agreed. Rest in peace, Wes Craven. Your nightmares live on .

        Liked by 1 person

  2. savageneurons · February 22, 2016

    Maybe you could have a section at decoding nightmares? Attempting to explain them, or explore them? I reckon that would be interesting 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Devore · February 22, 2016

      It would be very interesting- I’d read it. Unfortunately, my dear, I’m not sure I have sufficient knowledge for that yet. I will certainly look into it, as long as there is an audience.
      Thank you for your feedback!

      Liked by 1 person

      • savageneurons · February 23, 2016

        Anytime! 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  3. tracyeire · February 23, 2016

    Maybe the best tactic, should this dream ever crop up again, is for you to slam on the brakes, turn around, and look what’s chasing you in the eye. Shout it down! *Demand* to know what it wants! After all, the only thing that can chase you inside of your head… is you.

    Well. We hope. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Devore · February 23, 2016

      An empowering sentiment. If only I had realized that when I was younger.;)

      Like

      • Devore · February 25, 2016

        Always willing to broaden my knowledge base when it come to film, my dear. Thank you.

        Like

  4. Kat Myrman · February 23, 2016

    My recurring nightmare as a child involved being locked in a decrepit old house. I would run from room to room, each one having something frightening about it. There was someone in the house, but I never actually saw them. Occasionally I remember hearing them laugh at me or I would hear very loud breathing. All the years I had this dream from the age of a toddler into early school age, I never escaped the house. I just endlessly searched rooms and doors for a way out.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Devore · February 23, 2016

      It was the desperation, the fear of knowing that, perhaps, you were never going to get out. That help would never come. Wasn’t it, my dear?

      Like

  5. Catherine Mary · April 13, 2016

    I have had both recurring stalker dreams, and the house dreams described by Kat…would be interesting to know juxtaposition of your dreams ending and your writing horror beginning…my’house’ dreams started later than Kat’s, and have been recurring to present day just as the stalker dreams are…for me, anyway, they are not of the psyche, my inner self, etc., as some believe…the person who told you to turn and fight had it right…over the years ( about the last thirty in focus), in the stalker ones I’ve turned often to face various assailants , some human, some monster-like some demon like, by whatever definition you choose…they tell me actual evil is near…and to watch my back, as it were…did you ever see them as warnings, Devore? People say ‘house’ dreams are one of two things: feeling trapped in real life, or (more often in adults) an overwhelming decision that one has difficulty to the point of near trauma in the upcoming choice that needs to be made…I myself do not think that is true for me, either…my’ house’ dreams involve searching for someone, sometimes more than one person…occasionally I am successful and the dream gets crazy from there as we try to escape…but sometimes I don’t find the person I’m looking for…..either way, to my mind, I am actually helping someone out of some sort of trouble…when I fail, I wake up in a sweat, feeling more cheated than frightened. Few weird tho’ts from me to you…Katie.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Devore · April 13, 2016

      Thank you, my dear, for your ‘weird thoughts’. They are always welcome here.
      As far as nightmares go, the two scenarios mentioned seem to be the most common – and perhaps the most frightening. I cannot seem to remember in any of my dreams that the stalker came to warn me. It never spoke, remained forever faceless. That said, however, if a message was trying to be conveyed, as a young child I probably wouldn’t have understood that.
      I’m afraid there is no juxtaposition between the denouement of those dreams and the advent of my writing horror. Horror wasn’t really my ‘vibe’, but my daughter Cleo loved it, and I do mean loved it with a passion. From Poe to Lovecraft to King. When I lost both her and my wife, I found solace in her obsession. Strange, but there you are.
      I don’t quite agree with the theories on the ‘house’ dreams, either. I find that not everything can be sufficiently explained with psychological analysis.
      Again, thank you for the comment, Katie. I appreciate it.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Catherine Mary · April 13, 2016

        Dear friend: I am desolate to hear you lost both wife and daughter..even if this was not recent, it wouldn’t matter..my heart broke to hear it, but then you were able to write from it..see why it became passionate, but also cathartic, perhaps? What I meant by stalker dreams being warnings, wasn’t that the stalker was trying to warn me, but the dream itself was given to me, terrifying as it was, to forewarn me, of “something wicked this way comes”, in real life. I am quite thankful you no longer have them. While horror is not a venue I can often read, much less watch ( because of the nature of my dreams, you see) I am nevertheless fascinated by your site. I have to say that it is a great pleasure to read you as proper English whether in writing or commentary is something one doesn’t see much of. I hope this is a good day for you, Devore, in every way. Katie.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Devore · April 13, 2016

        Thank you, my dear. It was quite a while ago, but as you said it doesn’t make a difference. Time goes on in spite of the fact one’s world has been shattered. Yet slowly, the pieces came back together and though it isn’t something that can be ‘gotten over’, I can at least admit that it did happen and my life is forever changed-marred, I suppose. That admission came shortly after I began reading (and eventually writing) the scary stories Cleo adored so much. I found a way to keep her memory alive, for both her and her mother. Cathartic, yes.
        But enough about me!
        I have a question: you said that these stalker dreams are sent as a warning about some impending wickedness in real life. I simply wondered whether you meant in your personal life or in a general sense?
        Again, thank you. Your well-wishes are noted and appreciated, my dear. I hope your day is just as good.

        Liked by 1 person

  6. Catherine Mary · April 13, 2016

    I have never actually told anyone outside my family before about these dreams, Devore, so I had to take some time to think about how to answer your question. The warning is in my personal life as a rule, but sometimes the warning will come on the heels of either talking to (online or off) or dreaming of those people usually within my sphere of friends, family or aquaintances. It is a warning to me, or warning me of someone else’s coming troubles. And to “Get out of the road” if I can, when it’s to do with me. I hope this satisfies your querey. Thank you for asking. It has helped me talk a little more about myself…something not easy for me to do, as a rule. Katie.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Devore · April 13, 2016

      I appreciate that you feel comfortable enough to share, my dear, and yes that is the answer I was looking for. I’m curious – despite the poor cat- about the subject , due to a dream I once had that came true a few weeks later. It wasn’t precisely about me, but the event took place within my personal life. Rather strange, dreams are, gateways to the uncanny.

      Liked by 1 person

  7. Catherine Mary · April 13, 2016

    “The poor cat” is a point in my life as well. That is, curiosity gets the better of me quite often, lol! Now you’ve whetted mine with the dream you had that came to pass..dreams, I completely concur, ARE gateways to the uncanny, the preternatural. Let me know if this is something you wish to discuss further at some other time, or if this has satisfied your “poor cat”, ha, ha. I am thankful to find a friend to chat so easily with. Rare, that. I usually seem to do that for others.. Thank you again, Devore. I have enjoyed your company today,. Truly. Katie.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Devore · April 21, 2016

    Reblogged this on The Devorian.

    Like

Leave a Reply

